Visvesvaraya Ph.D. Scheme

The institute is ever encouraging the research activities and fostering a research oriented academic culture. Department of Electronics and Telecommunication, Instrumentation, Computer Science and Information Technology are striving for excellence through research in Electronic Systems and Information Technology with special attention to Signal and Image Processing, VLSI, Embedded Systems and Wireless Sensor Networks. The institute provides the state of the art computing facilities at ultra-modern “Centre of Excellencein Signal and Image Processing”-a part of an ambitious plan of NPIU, under TEQIP-II, Govt. of India.
Area of research include Signal & Speech Processing, Biomedical Signal &Image Processing, Computer Vision and Pattern Recognition, Content Based Image/ Video Retrieval, Biometrics, Texture Analysis, Medical Image Processing, Wireless Sensor Networks, Internet of Things(IOT), Embedded & VLSI Design, Soft Computing, Information Security.

Visvesvaraya Ph.D. Scheme:

The institute selects doctoral candidates for the prestigious Visvesvaraya Ph.D. Fellowship, instituted by the Department of Electronics and Information Technology, Ministry of Communications and Information Technology, Govt. of India. (

Provisions for Full Time Candidate:

  • Fellowship of Rs 22,500 p.m. (I&II Yr); Rs 25,000 p.m. (III – V Yr)
  • Annual Contingency grant/support: @Rs30,000 per year for consumables etc.
  • Reimbursement of rent as per rules of Government of India.
  • Support for attending up to two renowned International Conferences, up to maximum support of Rs 50,000/- for each international conference

Provisions for Part Time Candidate:

Part-time candidates who do not avail of any PhD Fellowship/ Scholarship/ Stipend from any Central or State Government shall be provided one time incentive of Rs 2.5 lakh on successful completion of the Ph.D. degree.
ELIGIBILITY: M.E. / M. Tech. with
(i) Valid GATE/ NET/ SET score   OR
(ii) Valid PET score conducted by SRTMU, Nanded (

Dr. S. N. Talbar

Nodal Officer, Professor, Department of Electronics & Telecommunication Engineering (

List of students selected for academic year 2015-16 ,  Details of Current Research Scholars, click at